Humphrey is 25th commitment

Humphrey is 25th commitment

The Saddleback football program inched closer to a milestone this weekend when quarterback Cam Humphrey became the 25th member of the 2017 team to make a commitment to a four-year program.  Humphrey will continue his football career at the University of Montana. 

Humphrey guided a Saddleback offense that set program records for points scored (483) and points-per-game (43.9) in 2017 while finishing 8-3 and making the Southern California Regional Playoffs.  He finished with 2,187 yards passing and 19 touchdown passes while completing 65.2% of his passes.   His 65.2% completion percentage was a new program record for quarterbacks with over 150 pass attempts in a season and his 430 yards passing against El Camino College on September 23 ranks 12th all-time for a single game.  Humphrey had the 19th best single-season for passing yards in Saddleback history despite backup Max Gilliam playing in 10-of-11 games for the Gauchos. 

Humphrey committed to the University of Montana last weekend, a program that plays in the Big Sky Conference.  The Grizzlies were 7-4 last season and 5-3 in the Big Sky.  The University of Montana is located in Missoula, Montana.

Humphrey becomes the 25th member of the 2017 Saddleback football team to make a commitment to a four-year program.  The 25 commitments ranks fourth in the past decade behind 2011 (29), 2012 (28), 2014 (27) and 2016 (26).  Since 2011, Saddleback football has transfered 174 different athletes to four-institutions, averaging 24.9 per-year.  


Dillon Amezquita DB Redlands
Joe Babros DL North Carolina State
TreMario Bivens DL Virginia Union
Nathan Bowman DB Wabash
Kyle Corder DB  Adams State
DaQu'an Davis WR Southwest Baptist
Emari Demercado RB Texas Christian
Dylan Douglass LB Dixie State
Chris Evagues DL Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
Babak Ghadaksaz OL Portland State
Max Gilliam QB UNLV
Chris Grasso OL Dixie State
Donte Hamilton DB Central Washington
Jake Hudson DL Toledo
Cam Humphrey QB Montana
Colin Kentros WR Doane
Kimani Keith DL West Florida
Korey Mariboho OL San Jose State
Albert Munoz OL San Diego
Ryan Nieman DB Sioux Falls
Nick Pallas OL Tusculum
Tony Quintero WR Sterling
Christian Rabay DB Lindenwood
Chris Spiering WR San Diego
Mateo Thompson K Fresno State